Rockband- Organica in Box-Sized Shapes (SAA1109)

First released in Canada by the group’s own Silver Shamrock label, somehow an early copy of the album made it’s way in the backpack of Orlando Greenhill all the way to Long Beach, CA. Only thing is, he doesn’t know how it got there. One day while Chris Schlarb was looking through Orlando’s CD collection (Ruins, Danielson Famile, Scatered Few, Henry Cow) he came across the album. Borrowing it and falling in love with it immediately, Of course it sounds nothing like the aforementioned noise, experimental and avant-ensembles, but rather, guitar and keyboard based rock-type music that just never seems to get stale. Creative arrangements and sonic workouts on this 14 song LP, originally recorded on 4-track by guitarist/singer Steve Hubert. We tried in vain to contact the Canadians. Letters and phone calls went without reply. Finally after three years. An email. Well the rest isn’t as interesting but let’s just say we’re super happy that Rockband is on board and look for more music from them in the near future. This re-release contains a lyric sheet and full colour sticker on the front of the album.

Steve Hubert- guitar, vocals, keyboard
Rob Wiebe- bass, vocals, percussion
Mike Hubert- drums
Recorded by Steve Hubert
Mastered by Toby Hulse

Track Listing
01. Tounge to confess his thanks
02. Things are much more complicated than they seem
03. Organica in box-sized shapes
04. 21st Century Dream: light and sounds unite [mp3]
05. Swimming pools of blue
06. Anne Cleveland
07. Pirates
08. Listen
09. Mothership
10. B minor
11. Mama
12. No less
13. Sing it to the setting sun [mp3]
14. Paris in the fall

None at this time.


Write a review

You must be logged in to post a comment.